Australia's Aaron Finch breaks his own T20I high score record

Adjust Comment Print

Australian cricket captain Aaron Finch has broken his own record to help Australia claim a 100-run victory over host nation Zimbabwe in the second game of cricket's Twenty20 tri-series. Shane Watson was the first when he scored fifties in three consecutive T20I innings in 2011-2012.

He plundered 16 fours and 10 sixes in the highest individual innings in T20 worldwide cricket, which only ended when he overbalanced chasing a wide one and hit wicket off the penultimate delivery of the innings.

Australia forged history by registering the first-ever 200-run partnership in the shortest format of the game.

Australia captain Aaron Finch revelled in his record-breaking innings against Zimbabwe, saying it was "up there" as one of the best innings he has ever played.

Let us take a look at the list of records created during his stay at the crease. D'Arcy Short contributed only 46 runs (off 42 balls) to a world-record opening stand of 223.

A slew of records tumbled as Australia destroyed Zimbabwe by 100 runs in the T20 tri-series at Harare Sports Club on Tuesday.

More news: Belgium boss eager to face Brazil as underdogs at World Cup
More news: County Fire causes Winters to cancel fireworks
More news: European Council agrees on voluntary solutions on migration

Finch brought up his second T20I hundred at the end of the 14th over, taking just 50 deliveries.

Aaron Finch has more global runs than any other batsman without having donned the whites.

Finch finished only three runs behind West Indian Chris Gayle's highest Twenty20 score of 175, which he hit in the 2013 Indian Premier League.

Aaron Finch faced 76 balls, a new record in T20Is and second highest in T20. This is the highest % of team's total scored by any player in a completed innings in all worldwide cricket (Men/Women). The highest individual score against Zimbabwe was Mohammad Shahzad's 118 not out.

Finch's previous record knock stood for almost five years: 156 off 63 against England at Southampton in 2013.