Messi breaks silence on Ronaldo's departure Real Madrid exit

Adjust Comment Print

Messi, who last failed to make the final three nominees in 2006, has won the award, in its various guises, five times and finished runner-up on another six occasions.

Speaking on Thursday, after beating Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the 2017-18 UEFA Player of the Year award, Modric said that he is was happy to continue Real Madrid.

Messi and Ronaldo have contested one of the great sporting rivalries over the course of the last decade, competing for individual and team honours while playing for arch-rivals Barcelona and Madrid.

Real midfielder Luka Modric was named the World Cup 2018's player of the tournament as Croatia reached the final against France.

Ronaldo, who like Messi is a five-time victor of the award, lifted a fourth Champions League title in five years before joining Italian champions Juventus in July.

Argentina and Barcelona forward was missing in the list released by Federation Internationale de Football Association on Monday just like he failed to get a mention during the UEFA award.

More news: Peak Hurricane Season Here, Tropical Threats May Form in Atlantic During September
More news: Serena marches on after battle with gritty Kanepi
More news: Unseeded Millman sends Federer crashing out of U.S. Open

Salah enjoyed a dream debut season for Liverpool after his transfer from Italian side AS Roma, scoring 44 times and clinching the English Premier League Golden Boot award with 34 League goals.

Federation Internationale de Football Association have closed an investigation into Inter Milan and their pursuit of Luka Modric this summer since they say there are no grounds to continue.

Messi says Barcelona are desperate for European success this year after three consecutive quarter-final exits.

Deschamps became just the third man to win the World Cup as a player and coach with a victory over Dalic's Croatia in Russian Federation, while Zidane led Real to a third consecutive Champions League win in May before stepping down.

Holland's Sarina Wigman, Lyon's Reynald Pedros and Asako Takakura of Japan are in contention for the women's coach prize.