Three former Cardinals named Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Adjust Comment Print

All three were drafted by general manager Ozzie Newsome, who is entering his final weeks before moving into a different role as Eric DeCosta takes over.

Mawae for the third straight year is in prime position to gain entry into the Canton shrine as the Hall on Thursday night announced its 15 Modern Era finalists for membership in the Class of '19.

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Elvis Grbac (R) celebrates with Tony Gonzalez after throwing him a touchdown pass in the first half of their game against the Detroit Lions 26 September 1999 at Kansas City's Arrowhead Stadium. And with Reed, who is in his first year of eligibility, there shouldn't be much discussion of whether he's worthy.

The inventor of the Lambeau Leap, LeRoy Butler, will have to wait for another chance at being named into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as he was not one of the fifteen finalists.

More news: NASA New Horizons image shows weird Ultima Thule looks like a snowman
More news: 'The View' on Kevin Hart reconsidering hosting Oscars
More news: Ayyappa Swami association condemns women's entry into Sabarimala temple

Bowlen was announced in August as a contributor nominee for the class. He won three Super Bowls with the Pats and was named All-Pro twice. Hutchinson made seven Pro Bowls and was a six-time first-team All Pro.

Gonzalez was selected to 14 Pro Bowls and is the NFL's all-time leader in receiving yards for tight ends with 15,127. Law went into the Patriots Hall of Fame in 2014. He ended his career with one season in the desert in 2010, starting all 16 games.

And just one of this year's modern era finalists - Coryell - has been a finalist before 2014. The initial list included former Rams head coach Dick Vermeil, wide receivers Torry Holt, Isaac Bruce and Henry Ellard, linebacker London Fletcher, defensive lineman La'Roi Glover, and offensive line coach Jim Hanifan. He also was a finalist in 2016 and has been a semifinalist the past eight years.